LAMC Culinary Team Wins Golden Chef's Hat

Posted on: 5/20/2022

LAMC Culinary Team holds up the Golden Chef's Hat 

LAMC Culinary Arts Institute Wins Culinary Cup

The Los Angeles Mission College Culinary Arts Institute won the Golden Chef’s Hat during the L.A. Community College District's second annual Culinary Cup competition on Friday.

Led by Chef Instructor Jesus Sanchez, the Mission team placed third place in the Savory category, tied for first place in the Pastry category, and placed first in Tablescaping, giving them the overall win and the right to keep the Golden Chef's Hat for a year, until the next competition.

“This event was a great success on so many levels," said Interim College President, Armida Ornelas, PhD. "There was a huge presence from our community on campus and we received so much support from local businesses, partners, faculty, staff, elected officials and others."

Mission hosted Harbor and L.A. Trade-Tech College for this year's event. Because of COVID, the event had been postponed two years in a row. Harbor was the host and winner of the inaugural event back in 2019.

Chef Sanchez said it was nice to be back in the classrooms training for the competition after a huge layoff because of remote learning.

“It was exciting to be back ... The Culinary Cup gave us an opportunity to return to campus," Chef Sanchez said. "Students were excited and engaged. I think this event highlighted their eagerness to continue their cooking education."

With more than 350 people in attendance and generous support from sponsors, the event was a great opportunity to showcase the campus to the community and raise money for student scholarships.

LAMC Culinary Team

Head Chef

  • Chef Jesus Sanchez

Savory Team

  • John Peter Ayala Jr.
  • Jaime Hurley
  • Gilbert Jordan
  • Flor Quijivix

Baking Team

  • Alyiah Batres
  • Natalie Bobadilla


  • Jacobo Raquena

Chef Instructors/Coaches

  • Chef Thomas Kim
  • Chef Magdalena Padron
  • Chef Ramiro Villegas

Thank You to Our Supporters

Title Sponsors

  • Pankow 
  • Ralphs and Food 4 Less

Savory Sponsors 

  • Gateway Science & Engineering
  • GMZ Engineering 

Trophy Sponsors

  • AIR Studio 
  • Arcadis 
  • Audacy 
  • Bureau of Street Services 
  • El Nido Family Centers 
  • L.A. Sanitation and Environment 
  • L.A. Harbor College Foundation 
  • L.A. Mission College Foundation 
  • New Economics for Women 
  • Union Bank 
  • Vinos Unidos 
  • Richard Verches 

Bakery Sponsors 

  • L.A. College Faculty Guild – AFT 1521 
  • L.A. City Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez 

Chef Sponsors

  • Duke’s Malibu 
  • Francisco Rodriguez, PhD, Chancellor, LACCD
  • Jordanos 
  • L.A. County Board Supervisor Sheila Kuehl 
  • Laborers Local 300 
  • Masters Contracting 
  • Navarro Dentistry 
  • 8one8 Brewing  
  • US Foods 

Hors d’oeuvres Sponsors 

  • Bodevi 
  • Gelb Group 
  • Truman House Tavern 

LAMC Foundation Board

  • Sylvia Ruiz 
  • Albert Alvarez 
  • Art Gastelum 
  • Pat Flood-Moreno 
  • Aura Garcia 
  • Bobby Arias 

Raffle and Gift Basket Donors

  • Business Department 
  • CalWORKS
  • Foster and Kinship Care Education Program 
  • Child & Family Studies Department 
  • Culinary Department 
  • DSPS 
  • English/Communications/Journalism Department 
  • EOPS
  • Financial Aid 
  • General Counseling Department 
  • LAMC Foundation 
  • Math Department 
  • President’s Office 
  • Ralphs 
  • Social Sciences Department 
  • Trio Student Support Services Program 
  • Soke Quintero 
  • Richard Verches 
  • Welcome Center 

ASO Student Volunteers 

  • Daniel Arzate 
  • Alex Calvillo 
  • Dharma Claurmani 
  • Brisa Garcia 
  • Javier Lopez 
  • Ivana Lozano 
  • Govani Matus 
  • Osia Macareno 
  • Philip Meja 
  • Itzel Montero 
  • Carla Moreno 
  • Erandy Miranda Peregrino 
  • Itzel Peregrino 
  • Alix Rodriguez 
  • Erick Tlatenchi 
  • Ian Tucker 

Silent Auction Team 

  • Evelyn Escatiola 
  • Paulina Palomino 
  • Beatriz Flores

Culinary Cup Planning Committee

  • Oliva Ayala 
  • Zenaida Barredo 
  • Terry Carter 
  • Robert Crossley 
  • Andy Good 
  • Alejandro Guzman 
  • Johnny Phung 
  • Eduardo Rangel
  • Sheri Ruiz 
  • Jesus Sanchez 
  • Tyler Staines 
  • Tara Ward 
Back to News & Events