LAMC Stock Photo

Library

Library : Library Workshops

Library Workshops

LA Mission College Workshop Schedule, Fall 2017

The workshops are 50 minutes long and are located in LRC205 

 

                                                         Week 1 - September       

Date

Time

Workshop

Tuesday, Sept. 26

12:30 pm

MLA

Thursday, Sept. 28

12:30 pm

Library Resources

 

 

Week 2 - October

Date

Time

Workshop

Wednesday, Oct. 4

12:30 pm

MLA

Tuesday, Oct. 10

12:30 pm

Library Resources

Thursday, Oct. 12

12:30 pm

APA

Monday, Oct. 16

5:30 pm

MLA

Wednesday, Oct. 18

12:30 pm

Library Resources

Monday, Oct. 23

5:30 pm

Library Resources

Wednesday, Oct. 25

12:30 pm       

Research            

Thursday, Oct. 26

5:30 pm

APA

 

 

Week 3 - November

Date

Time

Workshop

Saturday, Nov. 4

12:30 pm

MLA

Thursday, Nov. 9              

12:30 pm                             

Research                              

Tuesday, Nov. 7

12:30 pm

Library Resources

Saturday, Nov. 11

12:30 pm

APA

Monday, Nov. 13

5:30 pm

MLA

Wednesday, Nov. 15

12:30 pm

APA

Thursday, Nov. 16

5:30 pm

APA

Monday, Nov. 27

12:30 pm

MLA

Thursday, Nov. 30

12:30 pm

APA

 

 

Legend

Blue

Evening Workshops

Orange

Saturday Workshops

 

 

SERVICE AREA OUTCOME for Library Workshops: 
Students utilize and are satisfied with library resources and services.

Objectives:

  • Students use online periodical databases.
  • Students identify the elements of a journal or periodical citation.
  • Students apply advanced research strategies.
  • Students analyze Internet document for quality, relevance, timeliness, and authority.

Research Strategies

  • Choosing a topic
  • Primary vs. secondary sources
  • Scholarly vs. popular sources
  • Evaluating sources
  • Organizing research

MLA & APA

These workshops give examples of citing print and electronic sources. Other topics include:

  • Understanding plagiarism
  • Creating a works cited or reference page.
  • In-text documentation

Library Resources

This workshop introduces the libraryĆ¢€™s electronic resources.

  • Identifying appropriate resources for a topic
  • Basics of online searching
  • Advanced searching using Boolean terms (and, or, not)
  • Collecting articles and bibliographic data

 

Email Sheila MacDowell with any questions, or call the reference desk at (818) 364-7600, ext. 7105

Contact Us

LRC Upper Floor

Reference Desk: 818-364-7600 x7105

Circulation Desk: 818-364-7600 x7106

library@lamission.edu


Chat online with a librarian any time, seven days a week

Schedule a one-on-one research appointment

Facebook icon LA Mission Library on Facebook

Hours

Monday

9am - 4pm

Tuesday

9am - 4pm

Wednesday

9am - 4pm

Thursday

9am - 4pm

Friday

9am - 1pm


Closed college holidays and when classes are not in session